More Doctor Who Musings

I know how it isn’t fun to read about someone else obsessing about something, and so I apologize about posting about Doctor Who again. But things are bothering me, and maybe the Internet at large can help me clear up some points.

I’m mid-way through season three (so, Ten and Martha), for clarity’s sake.

First of all, let me just say that I find the show a little jarring, the way people come and go. I understand why this is necessary–no one is going to want or be able to play the same character for the length of time the show has been on, but it’s very weird to get used to or to like a character just to have them disappear after a season or two. I mean, I finally got to like Nine, and then he regenerated. And then, when Rose goes, we lose not only her, but Jackie and Mickey too.

(That being said, I heart Martha. She’s my favorite.)

Okay, points for clarification:

1. Nine says he’s over 900 years old. Now, admittedly, I am completely unfamiliar with Doctor Who before Eight (I mean, I can identify some of the earlier doctors, but I have no idea about the focus of the show or anything) but it seems like none of his regenerations last particularly long. I mean, Nine only seems to have lasted a year. And I admittedly have no ideas how Time Lords count years, but it seems like there hasn’t been enough time represented, or even alluded to.

2. For there being a finite number of Daleks left, they are seemingly everywhere.

3. Let’s talk about “Blink.” I can see it looming a few episodes ahead of where I am. People have hyped up the weeping angels to me every since the episode was originally on. So I’m a little anxious about actually watching it. If it’s not as scary as I’ve been told, I’ll be a little disappointed, and if it is, I may never sleep again.

4. Also, last week I had a bad dream about Daleks and weeping angels, and I think it’s quite unfair to start worrying about them before I’ve ever seen the episode.

5. Also, it seems a bit ostentatious to call your species the Time Lords. But, then, of course, they’re all the Doctor, the Master, etc., so what do I know.

Right, bit rambly, and I apologize for that. Anyway, I shall move on to other subjects for Thursday. But feel free to discuss these and other points in the comments. (Seriously, though, Daleks.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Definitely agree with #2 there. S1-4 kind of has a… problem with the Daleks, imo. They’re really much more effective villains when they’re used sparingly.

    The Time Lords being ostentatious and full of themselves is kind of their Hat, which is more or less why the Doctor ran away from Gallifrey. (And just wait until you see their outfits…)

    As for “Blink,” I hope you enjoy it regardless of whether it’s too scary/not scary enough. The fear factor aside, it’s an amazing piece of television and filmmaking regardless. :)

    Reply

    • I’ve noticed quite a bit of repetition in the episodes in general–lot of the same enemies. There’s a whole universe out there, after all.

      …he ran away?

      I am hoping it is not actually as scary as I have heard, because I have an extremely active imagination.

      Reply

  2. #1: The series has always been infamous for this. In “Tomb of the Cybermen” back in the late 60s, the Doctor says he’s about 450 years old. His next incarnation says in “Doctor Who and the Silurians” and “The Claws of Axos” that he’s several thousand years old. Years later, in “Planet of Evil” and “Pyramids of Mars”, he says he’s closer to 750. Just think of that number as production trivia, as well as a sign that the writer is having a moment of non-seriousness.

    #2: The Daleks came back soon enough after being “exterminated” in “The Evil of the Daleks” back in the Second Doctor’s era. Going farther, their very first appearance, “The Daleks” back in 1963-64 presented their defeat as a “final death”, yet they returned not one year later massively buffed with their presence being explained away with time travel. Given that it’s a whole show about time travel, no surprise there.

    #3 Well… it’s a Steven Moffat episode, and his fans have a tendency to overhype things. This fact quickly becomes far more apparent during the Smith seasons.

    #4: No comment.

    #5: It’s been that way since “The War Games” back in 1969, and if you see the Time Lords as they are depicted in the classic series, you’ll see why they’re called that. I say that in a good way as well as a bad way.

    So yes, there’s a lot of history behind the way things are done in new Doctor Who. If you’re willing to give the classic series a whirl, you can find a lot of the episodes on dailymotion.

    Reply

    • #1 – Excellent. I shall do that.

      #2 – I don’t mind there being Daleks–in fact, at this point, it would be sad to completely wipe them out–but they’re being a bit overdone at the moment. Both seasons 1 and 2 end with Daleks, and then they’re around outside of that as well.

      #3 – I guess I shall have to wait and see for myself.

      #4 – No doubt for the best.

      #5 – Yeah, I’m sure part of it is because I’ve only had experience with Doctors 8-10 at this point. I hear other Time Lords show up a bit later in the new series as well.

      Also, awesome about the older episodes. I may have to check those out.

      Reply

  3. Wear diapers when you watch Blink. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! (But no, I’d never call it “scary,” although I guess it’s as scary as Who ever really gets, but it is a very well put together episode.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 668 other followers

