I Love Ghost Stories But Wouldn’t Want to Be In One

(Due to unforeseen circumstances, the discussion of The Wind in the Door will take place next Tuesday, October 2nd.)

My husband recently came home. “Guess what?” he said. “They’re having a paranormal party!”

“They’re having a what?” I said.

“A paranormal party.”

“And what is that?”

“I don’t know,” he said.

The next day he’d done some research. “They’re having it at the mansion,” he said. “There’ll be a team of ghost hunters, and they’ll have an equipment talk and demonstration, and then everyone’s invited to do a ghost sweep of the mansion. This is awesome. Let’s do it.”

“No,” I said. “Are you kidding me?”

He stared at me. “I don’t understand. You love those ghost hunting programs.”

Normally, Squiders, I love to try new things. And I do love ghost stories and ghost hunting programs. But I’ve been a bit edgy about ghosts recently. You see, I don’t know if I believe in them or not. I don’t know if I believe in the paranormal at all. The ghost hunting shows are somewhat living vicariously for me, because I know what I would do if I did go ghost hunting: I would sit in a dark room and psych myself out, because I have an overactive imagination, and it does terrible things to me when I let it go unchecked.

As an example: when I was in third grade at Catholic school, we used to play Bloody Mary in the dark bathrooms after school. Everyone’s familiar with Bloody Mary, yes? Good. Anyway, I figured there was no way I was actually going to summon Bloody Mary, because that seemed stupid, so I ditzed around instead, but then there was this glow in the corner, and it started to expand, and to form a human-shape…

…I was out of there faster than you can say “Oh God Almighty WHAT IS THAT.”

Did I really see something?

I don’t know, but I know better than to push things.

(Also, I’m still on edge about the nursery and the cat staring at the corner of the ceiling and my child watching things moving that I cannot see…)

My husband thinks I’m being silly. And maybe I am. What do you think, Squiders? Do I suck it up and go for the experience? Do I trust my gut and stay home?

I cannot guarantee I will listen to you on this one.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by dennarahl on 2012/09/27 at 2:48 PM

    I too am a victim of the childhood bloody mary game. We were at the elementary school on a Saturday for a choir practice. The janitors didn’t turn on the bathroom lights, so the director had a couple of flash lights for us to use instead. During lunch we were playing in the bathroom and I scared the crap out of myself. I’m hypersensitive to mirrors in dark rooms still, even though I know its stupid. I hated the mirror in my dorm rooms, and I hate the one in the master bathroom.

    I would say don’t go. If you go and don’t experience anything, it could kill the joy you get from watching that kind of stuff on tv. If you go and scare the crap out of yourself (whether real or not), your paranoia at home will only get worse. If you stay home, you’ll stay in the happy land of maybe yes or maybe no.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

